2024 Birthday List

UK Honours Birthday list recognising the work of Scotland's sporting and physical activity volunteers and workforce.

The following individuals, amongst others, received awards in the UK Honours Birthday List from within Scotland's sporting, physical activity and recreation sector.

Please note that this is from the Scottish Government list and will be updated with any additions from the Cabinet Office full list forthwith.

The SSA would like to congratulate and thank all those honoured for their fantastic service to the sector.

Please note this list is comprised of those shown to be in a Scottish location, with the exception of Scottish athletes based elsewhere.
If there is anyone not listed below who you feel should be please contact Gregor Muir and we will update it accordingly.


Graeme Souness
For services to Football and Charity


Alexander (Sandy) Walter Barr Lyle MBE
For services to Golf

Alistair (Ally) Murdoch McCoist MBE
For services to Association Football and to Broadcasting

Martin Richard Slumbers
Chief Executive Officer and Secretary
For services to Golf

Jasmin Karina Paris
Ultra Runner
For services to Fell and Long-Distance Running


David McMath
Club Secretary and Groundsman, Castle Douglas Football Club
For services to Association Football

Stephen James Gallacher
For services to Golf

Kenneth MacKenzie
Volunteer, Scottish Mountain Rescue
For services to Mountain Rescue and to the community in Galloway

Nora Teresa Casares Rundell
Secretary, Inclusive Skating
For services to Inclusive Skating and Charities in Dunfermline

Alexander Steele
Honorary Life Member, The Forty Club
For services to Cricket and to People with Interstitial Lung Disease

Dean Stott
For services to Sport, and to Humanitarian and Mental Health Awareness


Christine Bell
Chief Executive Officer and Founder, Cycling Without Age Scotland
For services to the community in Falkirk and to Older People in Scotland

Harry Cowie Brodie
Organiser, Wheelchair Curling Committee Scotland
For services to Wheelchair Curling

Robert (Bob) Norris Easson
Director of Rugby, Edinburgh Academical Football Club
For services to Scottish Rugby

John Black Irving
Treasurer, Mill Cottage Hut, Cairngorms National Park, Treasurer, Glen Brittle Memorial Hut, Skye, and Member and lately Chair, Forth Valley Mountaineering Club
For services to Outdoor Activities and Health in Scotland

John Rodgers
Secretary, St Patrick’s Former Players Football Club
For services to Association Football