2017 New Year's List

UK Honours New Year's list recognising the work of Scotland's sporting and physical activity volunteers and workforce.

The following individuals, amongst others, received awards in the UK Honours New Year's List from within Scotland's sporting, physical activity and recreation sector.

The SSA would like to congratulate and thank all those honoured for their fantastic service to the sector.

Please note this list is comprised of those shown to be in a Scottish location, with the exception of Scottish athletes based elsewhere. A complete UK wide list is availble via the Government's website here. If there is anyone not listed below who you feel should be please contact Louise McIntyre and we will update it accordingly.

Mr Andrew Barron Murray OBE Kt
For services to Tennis and charity. 

Dr Katherine Jane Grainger CBE DBE 
For services to Sport and charity. 

Mr Michael Cavanagh OBE 
For services to Sport and the Commonwealth Games Movement. 
East Lothian

Mr James Joseph McGonigle OBE 
District Manager, Department for Work and Pensions. For services to the Armed Forces Reserves and voluntary service to Community Sport in Haddington. 
East Lothian

Ms Katie Archibald MBE 
For services to Cycling. 

Mrs Irene Bruce MBE 
Assisted Communications Manager, Population Health Improvement Directorate, Scottish Government. For services to the Improvement of Access to Public Services. 

Miss Joanna Butterfield MBE 
For services to Field Athletics. 

Mrs Catherine Caskie Khan MBE 
Scottish Wheelchair Dance Association. For services to People with Disabilities. 

Ms Karen Darke MBE 
For services to Sport particularly Cycling and Triathlon. 

Mrs Rhona Louise Elliot MBE 
Founder, MS Borders Racing Club. For services to Horseracing and charitable services to People with Multiple Sclerosis in the Scottish Borders. 
Roxburgh, Ettrick and Lauderdale

Mr Samuel Rodd Morshead MBE
Lately General Manager, Perth Racecourse. For services to UK Horseracing and to charity. 
Perth and Kinross

Mrs Marion Murdoch MBE 
For services to Sport particularly Curling. 

Mrs Helen Murray MBE 
For services to Swimming in Scotland. 
East Lothian

Mr Michael Andrew Martin O'Neill MBE 
Manager, Northern Ireland Football Team. For services to Football and the community in Northern Ireland. 

Mr Gordon Reid MBE 
For services to Wheelchair Tennis. 

Mrs Karen Anne Greaves BEM 
Head of Leisure and Lifelong Learning, Education, Leisure and Housing, Orkney Islands Council. For service to the community in the Orkney Islands.