2022 New Year's List

UK Honours New Year's list recognising the work of Scotland's sporting and physical activity volunteers and workforce.

The following individuals, amongst others, received awards in the UK Honours New Year's List from within Scotland's sporting, physical activity and recreation sector.

The SSA would like to congratulate and thank all those honoured for their fantastic service to the sector.

Please note this list is comprised of those shown to be in a Scottish location, with the exception of Scottish athletes based elsewhere. If there is anyone not listed below who you feel should be please contact Admin and we will update it accordingly.


Geoffrey S Brown
For services to Scottish Football and Local Community


Laura Baxter
For services to the Special Olympics

Kathleen Dawson
For services to Swimming and Women in Sport

Jill Douglas Hogg
For services to Sport and Charity

Owen Miller
For services to Athletics

Duncan Scott
For services to Swimming

Millar Thomas Stoddart
For services to Sport and to the Voluntary Sector in Scotland

John David Vernon Dent
For services to Veterans, Students and the Promotion of Sports for Disabled People in Scotland


Mary Weir
For services to Sport in the Scottish Borders

Margaret Worsfold
For services to British Ice Skating